Volunteer Spotlight: Steve Harris, Board Member

IMG_3301

Where are you originally from?

Athens, GA

Where did you go to college?

I received my bachelor’s degree in history from Georgia Southern University. I attended the University of Georgia for my Master of Social Science Education.

Besides being a board member for the Red Cross of Northeast Georgia, what is your occupation?

I am the Director of the Office of Emergency Preparedness at the University of Georgia. I have worked in emergency preparedness and public safety for over 20 years.

What do you as a board member?

The board serves to help move the organization forward with its mission and goals. We find ways to get the community engaged, help with events, and support the Red Cross in any way possible.  My job in emergency preparedness at UGA ties in well with what we do at the Red Cross. It was very easy for me to get involved. I have served on the board for three years.

What is your most memorable experience working with Red Cross?

It’s so hard to choose just one thing! I really enjoy working with the phenomenal people that volunteer with Red Cross. It’s invigorating to know that people care and they want to do great work on behalf of the organization. Another thing that stands out is the Fright Flight race we held this past fall. I served as the event chair and we were able to work alongside UGA recreational sports. Lastly, I am a big supporter of the Heroes Breakfast. I think honoring our public safety officials and community members who go the extra mile is so important. It’s a wonderful thing to see people who help others so selflessly get recognized.

What advice do you have for anyone interesting in volunteering with Red Cross?

Do it! I think that everyone should be exposed to the Red Cross to see the depth and breadth of things that we do. We cover everything from providing disaster relief, services to the armed forces, CPR training, and even international relief. There’s a place for everyone who is willing to put in the work to help others.

Leave a Reply

