March Staff Spotlight – Mike Reimann

FullSizeRender

Where are you originally from?

I was born in Florida but my father was in the US Air Force so we lived in a lot of different places including Florida, Japan, Texas, Arizona and Illinois.

How long have you been living in Gainesville?

I have lived in Gainesville since 1977. This part of the country is filled with some of the most wonderful and gracious people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.

Where did you go to college?

I got my undergrad in English at the University of South Florida in Tampa and my MBA at Brenau University in Gainesville.

What is your position at Red Cross and what do you do?

I am the disaster program manager for the Red Cross of Northeast Georgia. My job is to provide disaster related leadership and support to volunteers and Red Cross professionals within this area of Georgia. This includes working directly with counties to improve their preparedness and response to disasters, organizing and supporting volunteer operations, and strategic planning to enable us to support the people and agencies within this area who render aid during emergencies. We share a deeply rooted desire to serve those in need, and I am very pleased to work with such a high caliber of volunteers.

What inspired you to work at Red Cross?

            Volunteer work is in my blood. I have been volunteering in disaster relief and response since hurricane Andrew in 1992. Since that time I have worked during many floods, tornados and hurricanes. I find great personal satisfaction in working with volunteers to help people when disaster strikes.

What advice do you have for anyone interested in working with Red Cross?

I would say that the Red Cross has opportunities for service for anyone, no matter what their interest or abilities, and that when they come to serve they should bring their heart because that is what this is all about.

Leave a Reply

