November Volunteer Spotlight – Marie Mayner

Marie Mayner - volunteer spotlight pic

How long have you worked Red Cross and what capacity do you serve in?

I have been volunteering at the Red Cross for two years as a Disaster Action Team (DAT) responder and Disaster Health Services volunteer

What originally inspired you to work with the Red Cross?

My husband decided that he wanted to volunteer at the Red Cross, so I came along with him. It has truly become a passion, and I now volunteer full time. As someone who has been in nursing for 40 years, I don’t want to give it up now.  Nursing is the only thing I have ever wanted to do. I used to bandage my dolls, cats, and pets. Volunteering at the Red Cross keeps my medical knowledge current and keeps my mind active.

What is the most memorable experience you have had at the Red Cross?

Responding to the local house fires has always left a big impression on me. There’s something about the feeling you get when you know you are helping people in the community, rather than leaving them on the side of the street crying. It’s a joy to get our clients somewhere to stay for a couple of days and meet their immediate needs. The Red Cross follows up with fire victims in a few days to see if they need anything. I can’t explain the overwhelming sense of great appreciation I get from the clients.

What impact do you think the Red Cross has had in our community?

We have a strong chapter and our impact has only expanded since I have been a volunteer. As we have gained more counties to serve, the core group of volunteers has kept everything going.  The most important thing we do is fulfill the Red Cross mission by alleviating human suffering and caring about our neighbors and community.

What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

I spend the majority of my time giving back to the community. I not only volunteer at Red Cross, but also at Open Arms Clinic in Toccoa. I also enjoy spending time with my husband. We are definitely a team. Everything I do, he does, and vice versa!

Leave a Reply

