September Volunteer Spotlight: Tom Carney

 

Tom Carney

Q: When did you first start working with the East Georgia Red Cross?

A: I have been volunteering since 1983. I have served as a CPR & First Aid instructor and volunteer.

Q: What originally inspired you to join the Red Cross?

A: Being a nursing student is what got me interested in working with this organization. I desired to help my community. The football games also really drew me in.

Q: How do you serve at the Red Cross at UGA football games?

A: I volunteer as a first aid responder. I supervise the north side of Sanford Stadium by roaming from outpost to outpost looking for individuals who need assistance or supplies. I try to ensure that I am near the student section during the hottest part of the day so that we can treat anyone who may be suffering from heat-related stress.

Q: What is the most memorable experience you’ve had while volunteering at the Red Cross?

A: Once, we were stationed at the Twilight Criterium pro-cycling event. One of the bikers wiped out and completely scraped up her leg from the knee to the ankle. It was amazing to be able on the scene and take care of her after such a nasty fall.

Q: What impact do you believe the East Georgia Red Cross has had on the community?

A: I believe the impact is very large. There are so many people who get CPR & First Aid training. In addition, there is a general concentration on health that the Red Cross spreads throughout the community. Although I am not directly involved with disaster preparedness, I know the Red Cross does a lot for those who suffer from fires and other emergencies.

Q: What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

A: I love to eat. This city has some amazing restaurants. My top 3 favorite places to eat are The Grit, Taqueria del Sol, and Chipotle.

Leave a Reply

