August Volunteer Spotlight: Frank Bachelder

photo (1)

Q: When did you first start working with the East Georgia Red Cross?

A: It was in the early 90s, 90 and 91. I started on the board. I’ve been an emeritus for six years.

Q: What originally inspired you to join the Red Cross?

A: I was invited on with a friend who worked at the university. He was also on the board. I thought a lot of him and thought a lot of the Red Cross, so I decided to join the board. He said it’s a great organization and there was a need for local business participation. At that time I was still in business. I was president of Classic City Beverages. I was there my entire career; it was a family owned business. I’ve enjoyed serving. I’ve enjoyed working with other board members; it’s a great organization.

Q: What is the most memorable experience you’ve had volunteering for the Red Cross?

A: Helping expand the reach of the chapter into the additional counties that we’ve had. Basically, helping with fundraising and special events, that kind of thing. The Sleighbell race has been the longest running (event) and the most successful consistently since I started. I’ve helped with planning, bringing materials out and delivering materials, setting up water stations and manning the water stations. They say I’ve got the best water around.

Q: What impact do you believe the East Georgia Red Cross has had on the community?

A: I think it’s had a huge impact with the service to military and disaster services. Particularly on the day-to-day, year-to-year basis, the home fire services to families.

Q: What would be your advice for anyone who is considering getting involved in the Red Cross?

A: I’d say to start off volunteering in an area of interest and learn more about the Red Cross.

Q: What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

A: UGA football, I’d say. I go to all of the home games and some out of town.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

